Government Relations

Our Government Relations team is the lobbying arm of NCRGEA.  Our lobbyist team and Government Relations Committee are responsible for carrying out the legislative goals and agenda as created and adopted by the NCRGEA Board of Directors.

The 2021 Government Relations Committee of the North Carolina Retired Governmental Employees’ Association is composed of members of our Board of Directors who are appointed by the President.  This Committee is responsible for reviewing proposed legislation, recommending legislative goals for the Association to the Executive Committee, and working with representatives of the retirement systems and the General Assembly to improve legislation to retired governmental employees.  The current membership of the Government Relations Committee is listed below.

Alice Bordsen, Chair
Vann Langston, NCRGEA President
Bob Atwater
Melissa Bartlett
Suzanne Merrill
Tony Perry
Ed Sheary
Linda Suggs, Immediate Past President
Mike Taylor, NCRGEA Secretary/Treasurer
Chuck Wooten

2021 Legislative Agenda

Our NCRGEA legislative agenda is created every biennium and reviewed annually by our Board of Directors and our Government Raletions Committee prior to the start of the General Assembly’s long session.  Long sessions occur in odd-numbered years and short sessions in subsequent even-numbered years.

Because the lobbying goals of the association trend around similar issues: healthcare, pension sustainability, cost of living adjustments for retirees, among others – our legislative priorities and goals do not often fluctuate in subject, but in subject matter.  In more recent years, achieving progress toward our legislative goals has become more complex due to the changing political tides and conflicts that make them increasingly more difficult to accomplish.

 

Become an Online Advocate

As a local voice in your community, you can support NCRGEA by educating and advocating with state and local leaders in your community about matters important to retirees across North Carolina.
NCRGEA will provide training and talking points to support your efforts to raise awareness of retirees’ needs with our local and state elected officials.

Click on the button below and answer a couple questions, and we will be in touch with you to get you started.

Governmental News & Updates

Protecting Public-Service Retirees’ Pension Plan a Priority

Protecting Public-Service Retirees’ Pension Plan a Priority

By N.C. Treasurer Dale R. Folwell, CPA One of the things I enjoy the most about my job as keeper of the public purse is the opportunity to meet retired public-service employees whose years of hard work provide the backbone of our state and local governments. Their...

NCRGEA Lobbying Efforts

NCRGEA has a team of four registered, contracted lobbyists who are always represented at the General Assembly.  When in session, we attend House and Senate committees, track bills relevant to our agenda, mission, and strategic goals, and meet with legislators and staff to promote NCRGEA’s agenda.  Cultivating relationships with legislators, legislative staff, “sister” groups and government agencies, including the Office of the State Treasurer, are of utmost importance for the lobbying team.

Our lobbying team is also prepared to speak to support or oppose legislation of positive or negative consequence for NCRGEA members.

NC General Assembly 2021 Session

The 2021 session of the NC General Assembly convened on January 13, 2021.  Below are the committees in the NC General Assembly that NCGREA’s legislative efforts will focus on during this session.  We encourage you to contact these committee chairs, as well as your local legislators, during this year’s session to enlist their support for NCRGEA’s efforts on your behalf.

Click on each header box below to view the selected committee members and contact information.

Senate Appropriation Chairs

Title

First Name

Last Name

Leg Tel (919)

Email Address

Member Bio / Info

 

Senator

Kathy

Harrington

733-5734

Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.gov

Senator Harrington

 

Senator

Ralph

Hise

733-3460

Ralph.Hise@ncleg.gov

Senator Hise

 

Senator

Brent

Jackson

733-5705

Brent.Jackson@ncleg.gov

Senator Jackson

 

Senate Committee on Pension & Retirement & Aging

Chairs

 

Title

First Name

Last Name

Leg Tel (919)

Email Address

Member Bio / Info

 

Senator

Deanna

Ballard

733-5742

Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.gov

Senator Ballard

 

Senator

Kathy

Harrington

733-5734

Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.gov

Senator Harrington

 

Senator

Joyce

Krawiec

733-7850

Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.gov

Senator Krawiec

 

 

Members

 

Title

First Name

Last Name

Leg Tel (919)

Email Address

 

Senator

Ted

Alexander

715-0690

Ted.Alexander@ncleg.gov

Senator Alexander

 

Senator

Sydney

Batch

733-5653

Sydney.Batch@ncleg.gov

Senator Batch

 

Senator

Ernestine

Bazemore

715-3040

Ernestine.Bazemore@ncleg.gov

Senator Bazemore

 

Senator

Jim

Burgin

733-5748

Jim.Burgin@ncleg.gov

Senator Burgin

 

Senator

Jay

Chaudhuri

715-6400

Jay.Chaudhuri@ncleg.gov

Senator Chaudhuri

 

Senator

Carl

Ford

733-5665

Carl.Ford@ncleg.gov

Senator Ford

 

Senator

Ralph

Hise

733-3460

Ralph.Hise@ncleg.gov

Senator Hise

 

Senator

Wiley

Nickel

715-3036

Wiley.Nickel@ncleg.gov

Senator Nickel

 

Senator

Jim

Perry

733-5621

Jim.Perry@ncleg.gov

Senator Perry

 

Senator

Bill

Rabon

733-5963

Bill.Rabon@ncleg.gov

Senator Rabon

 

Senator

Bob

Steinburg

715-8293

Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.gov

Senator Steinburg

 

Senator

Joyce

Waddell

733-5650

Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.gov

Senator Waddell

House Appropriation Committee Chairs

Senior Chairs

Title

Name

Office Phone

Office Email

Member Bio / Info

Representative

Dean Arp

919-715-3007

Dean.Arp@ncleg.gov

Rep. Arp

Representative

Donny Lambeth

919-733-5747

Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.gov

Rep. Lambeth

Representative

Jason Saine

919-733-5782

Jason.Saine@ncleg.gov

Rep. Saine

Chairs

Title

Name

Office Phone

Office Email

Representative

William D. Brisson

919-733-5772

William.Brisson@ncleg.gov

Rep. Brisson

Representative

Dana Bumgardner

919-733-5809

Dana.Bumgardner@ncleg.gov

Rep. Bumgardner

Representative

Jeffrey Elmore

919-733-5935

Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.gov

Rep. Elmore

Representative

John Faircloth

919-733-5877

John.Faircloth@ncleg.gov

Rep. Faircloth

Representative

Kyle Hall

919-733-5609

Kyle.Hall@ncleg.gov

Rep. K. Hall

Representative

Larry C. Strickland

919-733-5849

Larry.Strickland@ncleg.gov

Rep. Strickland

House Pensions & Retirement Committee

Chair

Title

 Name

Office Phone

Email

Member Bio / Info

Representative

Allen McNeill

919-715-4946

Allen.McNeill@ncleg.gov

Rep. McNeill

Vice Chairs

Title

Name

Office Phone

Email

Member Bio / Info

Representative

Rosa U. Gill

919-733-5880

Rosa.Gill@ncleg.gov

Rep. Gill

Representative

Carson Smith

919-715-9664

Carson.Smith@ncleg.gov

Rep. C. Smith

Members

Title

Name

Office Phone

Email

Member Bio / Info

Representative

Jeffrey Elmore

919-733-5935

Jeffrey.Elmore@ncleg.gov

Rep. Elmore

Representative

Pat Hurley

919-733-5865

Pat.Hurley@ncleg.gov

Rep. Hurley

Representative

Donny Lambeth

919-733-5747

Donny.Lambeth@ncleg.gov

Rep. Lambeth

Representative

Grier Martin

919-733-5773

Grier.Martin@ncleg.gov

Rep. Martin

Representative

Amos Quick

919-733-5902

Amos.Quick@ncleg.gov

Rep. Quick

Representative

James Roberson

919-733-5974

James.Roberson@ncleg.gov

Rep. Roberson

Contact Your Legislators

You can view a full list of Senate or House members or to find and contact the State Legislators in your area of the state, or click on the following links to view your House or Senate Representation by County:  House    Senate   then click on the county where you live for a list of the House or Senate legislators.

Ways to Keep Informed

Government Relations Updates and Alerts

When the legislature is in session, your NCRGEA staff compiles and shares this information through email updates, this website, social media posts, and calls to action.  We keep this information up to date to keep you informed. The goal is to provide you with the most current information so you are able to make an informative decision as to how to approach legislators to show your support or opposition on an upcoming issue.

End-of-Session Summary

At the close of each legislative session, your NCRGEA lobbying team will provide a synopsis of the decisions made during that session.  Additionally, our team will analyze trends in pension issues, cost of living adjustments and other fiduciary matters of importance to our association members.

Contact with Local and Legislative Members

Through our website, we provide the tools to help you contact your legislators.  By calling, writing letters, or sending emails, contacting your legislators is crucial to our mission and goals at NCRGEA.  We provide helpful tips and outlines, as well as sample letters to help you advocate for the issues in which you believe.   You are always welcome to contact NCRGEA regarding any thoughts or issues you may have or if you have questions, comments, or concerns.

 

CALL TO ACTION: The House of Representatives is working on the 2021 budget. As it stands now, the Senate’s first version lacks needed cost-of-living money for retirees. Retirees deserve better!

X