NCRGEA Legislative Agenda

Our NCRGEA Legislative agenda is created every biennium and reviewed annually by our Board of Directors and our Government Relations Committee prior to the start of the General Assembly’s long session. Long sessions occur in odd-numbered years and short sessions in subsequent even-numbered years.

Because the lobbying goals of the association trend around similar issues: healthcare, pension sustainability, cost of living adjustments for retirees, among others – our legislative priorities and goals do not often fluctuate in subject, but in subject matter. In more recent years, achieving progress toward our legislative goals has become more complex due to the changing political tides and conflicts that make them increasingly more difficult to accomplish.

2023 Proposed Legislative Goals

As the largest association of retired government employees in the United States, the NCRGEA advocates for the following:

  1. Advocate for annual cost of living adjustments for all government retirees.
  2. Strengthen the state’s defined benefit plan to attract and retain the best and brightest public servants.
  3. Ensure the State of North Carolina will continue to fulfill its constitutional requirement to fully fund North Carolina Retirement Systems and the State Health Plan.
  4. Increase in person and telehealth access, improving health outcomes for retirees.
  5. Expand first, middle, and last mile broadband opportunities to provide increased, dependable, affordable access to broadband.
  6. Expand the Bailey tax exemption for state and local retirees and pursue other tax exemption opportunities.

Our Government Relations team is the lobbying arm of NCRGEA. Our lobbyists team and Government Relations Committee are responsible for carrying out the legislative goals and agenda as created and adopted by the NCRGEA Board of Directors.

Play Video

The 2022-23 Government Relations Committee of the North Carolina Retired Governmental Employee's Association

The Association is composed of members of our Board of Directors who are appointed by the President. This Committee is responsible for reviewing proposed legislation, recommending legislative goals for the Association to the Executive Committee, and working with representatives of the retirement systems and the General Assembly to improve legislation to retired governmental employees.

To see a Summer 2022 Legislative Session update, view the video shared here from Celebration Public Service Week.

Legislative News & Updates

NC General Assembly

The 2022 session of the NC General Assembly convened on January 3, 2022. Below are the committees in the NC General Assembly that NCGREA’s legislative efforts will focus on during this session. We encourage you to contact these committee chairs, as well as your local legislators, during this year’s session to enlist their support for NCGREA’s efforts on your behalf.

You can view a full list of Senate  or House  members or to find and contact the State Legislators in your area of the state. You may also click on the following links to view your House or Senate Representation by County:  House Senate then click on the county where you live for a list of the House or Senate legislators. Click to view and contact your representation in the US Congressional Delegation.


First Name

Last Name

Leg Tel (919)

Email Address

Member Bio / Info






Senator Harrington






Senator Hise






Senator Jackson


TitleFirst NameLast NameLeg Tel (919)Email AddressMember Bio / Info 
SenatorDeannaBallard733-5742Deanna.Ballard@ncleg.govSenator Ballard 
SenatorKathyHarrington733-5734Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.govSenator Harrington 
SenatorJoyceKrawiec733-7850Joyce.Krawiec@ncleg.govSenator Krawiec 
TitleFirst NameLast NameLeg Tel (919)Email Address  
SenatorTedAlexander715-0690Ted.Alexander@ncleg.govSenator Alexander 
SenatorSydneyBatch733-5653Sydney.Batch@ncleg.govSenator Batch 
SenatorErnestineBazemore715-3040Ernestine.Bazemore@ncleg.govSenator Bazemore 
SenatorJimBurgin733-5748Jim.Burgin@ncleg.govSenator Burgin 
SenatorJayChaudhuri715-6400Jay.Chaudhuri@ncleg.govSenator Chaudhuri 
SenatorCarlFord733-5665Carl.Ford@ncleg.govSenator Ford 
SenatorRalphHise733-3460Ralph.Hise@ncleg.govSenator Hise 
SenatorWileyNickel715-3036Wiley.Nickel@ncleg.govSenator Nickel 
SenatorJimPerry733-5621Jim.Perry@ncleg.govSenator Perry 
SenatorBillRabon733-5963Bill.Rabon@ncleg.govSenator Rabon 
SenatorBobSteinburg715-8293Bob.Steinburg@ncleg.govSenator Steinburg 
SenatorJoyceWaddell733-5650Joyce.Waddell@ncleg.govSenator Waddell
Senior Chairs
Title Name Office Phone Office Email Member Bio / Info
Representative Dean Arp 919-715-3007 Rep. Arp
Representative Donny Lambeth 919-733-5747 Rep. Lambeth
Representative Jason Saine 919-733-5782 Rep. Saine
Title Name Office Phone Office Email
Representative William D. Brisson 919-733-5772 Rep. Brisson
Representative Dana Bumgardner 919-733-5809 Rep. Bumgardner
Representative Jeffrey Elmore 919-733-5935 Rep. Elmore
Representative John Faircloth 919-733-5877 Rep. Faircloth
Representative Kyle Hall 919-733-5609 Rep. K. Hall
Representative Larry C. Strickland 919-733-5849 Rep. Strickland
Title  Name Office Phone Email Member Bio / Info
Representative Allen McNeill 919-715-4946 Rep. McNeill
Vice Chairs
Title Name Office Phone Email Member Bio / Info
Representative Rosa U. Gill 919-733-5880 Rep. Gill
Representative Carson Smith 919-715-9664 Rep. C. Smith
Title Name Office Phone Email Member Bio / Info
Representative Jeffrey Elmore 919-733-5935 Rep. Elmore
Representative Pat Hurley 919-733-5865 Rep. Hurley
Representative Donny Lambeth 919-733-5747 Rep. Lambeth
Representative Grier Martin 919-733-5773 Rep. Martin
Representative Amos Quick 919-733-5902 Rep. Quick
Representative James Roberson 919-733-5974 Rep. Roberson